支付方式:支付宝,售后请发订单号至:[email protected]

Dear Mrs. Bird by A.J. Pearce

Dear Mrs. Bird by A.J. Pearce


A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent seem suddenly achievable. But the job turns out to be typist to the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs Bird is very clear: Any letters containing Unpleasantness—must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant letters from women who are lonely, may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men and found themselves in trouble, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write letters back to the women of all ages who have spilled out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels with Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are spirited and gutsy, even in the face of events that bring a terrible blow. As the bombs continue to fall, the irrepressible Emmy keeps writing, and readers are transformed by AJ Pearce’s hilarious, heartwarming, and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.


购买和发货:
1.需要注册登录后方可购买。
2.购买后自动发送百度网盘链接到您的邮箱或在历史订单中查看下载链接。
3.无特殊说明,epub,mobi(kindle用),pdf三种格式都会提供。
4.音频为全文朗读有声书,mp3格式。


购买

  • 您还没有选择任何商品哦。

Dear Mrs. Bird by A.J. Pearce:等您坐沙发呢!

发表评论

您必须 [ 登录 ] 才能发表留言!